Chariho School Parents’ Forum

July 28, 2008

Contract Sub Committee minutes

Filed under: contract negotiations — Editor @ 12:24 pm

Here are the minutes from the first meeting.  Bill Day is not a member of the committee but said he was there as a member of the public. 

It is interesting to note that Mr. Day (whose wife and son work at Chariho and who spends many of his days at Chariho as his employer also recieves money from the school) feels every employee is needed and that we are not overstaffed.  Considering our teacher:student ratio is among the lowest in the nation, perhaps all those other schools around the country should take his advice and start hiring more staff. 

Day also challenged “those who are critical to come forward to which Holly Eaves added that this is where she feels there is a weakness.  She doesn’t have enough data to counter the criticism.”

contract-sub-minutes

34 Comments »

  1. What a bunch of idiots! Sure, schedule the meetings for the morning so the public has a very difficult time attending. They mention this but do it anyway. Explain to me, Mr. Petit, why they have scheduled the meeting for the mornings. What is the sub-committe trying to hide. I’ve benn in your corner most of the time but this time I certainly can’t do it.

    Another line that got to me is Barry Ricci stating that they have a good rapport with the unions. Hell yes, the school committee and the administration kisses the union’s collective butts. Damn it all, I’m pissed with this!

    Comment by CharihoParent — July 28, 2008 @ 2:42 pm | Reply

  2. In Ms. Eaves world the problem isn’t that they spend too much of our money…the problem is that they can’t come up with enough lies to refute the facts. This isn’t a committee to determine how to best manage costs…it is a committee designed to combat opposition to spending far above what is reasonable and necessary. Mr. Ricci would have good rapport with me too if he made sure I was overpaid, overcompensated, and was eligible to retire in my fifties.

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 28, 2008 @ 4:10 pm | Reply

  3. Chariho Parent the first meeting was schedule for the morning only becasue we it was the only time we had to setup a meeting and get going with the subcommittee. We are meeting tomorrow night 6pm if anyone is interested in attending.

    Barry made that statement when a questions was asked if we would run into legal problems if we wanted to combine jobs or eliminate any of the stipend positions. One of the sub committee members brought up a point about a school that is being sued because a position wes eliminated ( i beleive) and the work was divided up among other workers. The union is claming that is unfair.

    If it were only as easy as some make it seem. Just go in and fire them all….come on CP I know you have heard this and do you really think this is something that can be done. Some things can be changed without problems others can’t. Not looking for a pat on the back by any means, dont need one. But at least give the school committee credit for saying “NO” not before we look over things; isn’t that what we are supposed to be doing? And now we are doing it and all we are getting is ridiculded. Than people wonder why memebers on the committee just stop listening. Damned if you do; damned if you don’t. This is ok, if that is how people want to act or react, I will continue on trying to do my best as will the other members of the sub and school committee.

    Comment by Bob Petit — July 28, 2008 @ 4:11 pm | Reply

  4. After reviewing the minutes it seems Mr. Day and others want to justify the over-staffing at Chariho. Instead of looking for excuses why our student to employee ratio is ridiculously bloated, why not identify school districts in the United States which perform well with much higher and tax-friendly employee to student ratios? There must be organizational charts available for schools with more realistic staffing?

    An effective committee would focus its attention on redundant and unnecessary positions which consume a salary before bogging down on stipends and such which will save us much less than elmination of employees. Sounds like many on this committee and in attendance want to salvage the status quo.

    Every time a group like this gets together and expose their real agenda, it validates Hopkinton’s collective intelligence in rejecting business as usual at Chariho. Richmond’s Town Council can issue votes of confidence in Mr. Ricci if they want…Nero fiddled as Rome burned.

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 28, 2008 @ 4:23 pm | Reply

  5. Mr. Petit, seems like no one has the courage the President Regan had when he stood up to the Air Traffic Controllers union.

    Comment by CharihoParent — July 28, 2008 @ 5:08 pm | Reply

  6. Mr. Petit, the problem that I see is that the unions sem to now have a stranglehold on us. Since when do employees control how a company is run unless it is an employee owned company? Something just isn’t right if stipend positions can’t be eliminated without unions taking the district to court. This seems to be the failure of both the administration and the school committee to allow this to go on.

    Comment by CharihoParent — July 28, 2008 @ 5:20 pm | Reply

  7. Ronald Reagan didn’t have any problems firing all the air traffic controllers….it can be done, not necessary, but you asked if it was feasible Bob so I answered.

    Comment by RS — July 28, 2008 @ 6:19 pm | Reply

  8. So after reading the minutes, why is Bill Day listed by title(Chair) as opposed to just Bill, or Mr. Day. I doubt very seriously he was attending as just a citizen and taxpayer of the school district. I read nothing in the minutes about bringing more transparency to the contract proceudre. There was some hinting about it by Holly Eaves, but nothing specifically outlining greater transparency bye the School Committee.
    So it appears this meeting spent 1:51 to state that job descriptions need defining…..

    Comment by RS — July 28, 2008 @ 10:19 pm | Reply

  9. A Wall Street Journal article on the success of voucher programs and charter schools. The reporting details the political based opposition to parental choice. Who can’t help but notice when hypocritical opponent such as Sen. Obama send their children to private schools while forcing poorer families to leave their children’s fate in the hands of failing public schools.

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB121720068489088381.html?mod=opinion_main_review_and_outlooks

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 28, 2008 @ 10:33 pm | Reply

  10. RS,
    Bill Day has gone out of his way to avoid being on boards that work on contracts. He even abstains when he is allowed to vote. I specifically asked him (in the meeting) in what capacity he was there and he said as a member of the public. I’ll let the minutes speak for itself.

    Comment by Bill Felkner — July 28, 2008 @ 10:44 pm | Reply

  11. I don’t what else to say. I think I explained it pretty well in my post. This is not about the teacher contracts.

    Bill Day can go to any meeting and say what he wants, just as any member of the school committee. They cannot vote on an issue. Anyone can voice their opinions, all you have to do is come and voice it. The only three that have a vote right now is the subcommittee members. Then we take all of it, put it in a report, bring it and our suggestions to the school committee and see where it goes.

    Bill if you came and voiced your opinion would it make it wrong? These are his feelings or opinions on the matter. Doesn’t mean we agree or will follow them. Funny, people complain when the public isn’t given the chance to speak and when someone from the public ( which he is in these meetings) speaks, people complain that he does. AND before you go off on a tangent; I am not saying I agree with what he said, jsut saying he has a right to voice his opinion.

    Comment by Bob Petit — July 29, 2008 @ 9:48 am | Reply

  12. Mr. Day has plenty of opportunity to voice his opinion. He can go to any meeting he wants, but even the minutes describe him as “chair” so let’s not pretend his voice isn’t louder than the average citizen. The chair wields control over the School Committee meetings and decides who gets to be heard (remember Ms. Morgan).

    Mr. Day is a proven fool, but he knows he can direct the tone and focus of the meetings and judging from the minutes this seems to have been his intent. Since the minutes reflect a good deal of discussion on how to convince the public Chariho doesn’t have unnecessary employees, then Mr. Day has already had some success in protecting his family’s interests.

    Sure, he can be at the meeting, but just as surely, we can publicize his participation and his self-serving agenda. We all have a right to voice our opinions…and in my opinion, Mr. Day seeks to influence the subcommittee in a manner which best suits the economic benefits of his family and friends. He fits right in on a committee where every member has personal interest in maintaining spending at Chariho.

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 29, 2008 @ 10:13 am | Reply

  13. Bill Day is the Chair of the school committee. he is recognized as such in any meeting he attends. Take out of it what you will it really doesn’t matter. I am not going to keep up this discussion on what he said, how he said it or what he is or isn’t.

    Like I said he is a tax payer of the district and has a right to speak. Yes CR you have a right to speak. And since it is mostly, not all but mostly,foolishness I will hold my comments to meetings. I thought coming here and tryinng to bring information to you, right, wrong or indifferent would help. But it is the same old thing over and over, If someone doesn’t agree with you than you call them a name or try to belittle them. Like I said before damned if you do damned if you don’t in your eyes.

    Mr Bill Day has given a lot to this community. He has been a firefighter,baseball coach, basketball coach, referre and a school committee member. While I don’t always agree with Bill and his ideas, I do thank him for his time and contributions to this district. It is like Scott Bill Hirst to me, i don’t always agree with what he says; but I do respect him for what he has done. To me there is a difference, you can respectfully disagree with someone and not have to always think there personal gain behind everything they do.

    Not really sure what I have to gain out of this committee like you imply. But I am about tired of your ignorant comments and implications. I don’t have to come here and blog, I do becasue I try to keep people informed, I truly have better things to do.

    My email address is b_petit@hotmail.com if anyone should want to ask a question or send a comment feel free. Other then that I will see you at the meetings.

    Comment by Bob Petit — July 29, 2008 @ 11:03 am | Reply

  14. I’m ssaving my visit to the committee meeting for when I need a dose of feel good.

    Comment by RS — July 29, 2008 @ 11:29 am | Reply

  15. I’ve observed Mr. Day for years outside his School Committee role. While he has been active in the community, I wouldn’t characterize his activities as benevolent, but more about his ego. He has always struck me as a grown up bully who runs over whomever gets in the way of his oversized ego. This may not be a big deal in most of his community “service”, but at Chariho he has his own employment as well as the employment of his wife and son along with his inferiority complex. The combination is dangerous for the econmoic security for families of Chariho. We have the highest student to employee ratio in the country and Mr. Day doesn’t see a problem…if it wasn’t so expensive, it would be laughable.

    Sorry we don’t kiss your feet and tell you what a swell job you are doing Mr. Petit. If you had actually spoken out at meetings about cost savings or academic improvements more often, you might find many of us more appreciative of your efforts. Instead you routinely join in the attack against the one member who has consistently and vocally attempted to improve things at Chariho by increasing transparency and expecting accountability. You do claim to want to see things change in these areas, but when push comes to shove, you fall over for the administration and push back against all attempts to change things.

    I voted for you on your promise of improving things at Chariho. I disregarded your personal history because you promised to be a positive force on the School Committee. You’ve been a major disappointment. I can’t even say you’ve tried based on your performance at meetings. If I’m left wondering about your family relationships with Chariho employees, who can blame me? Why else would you run on promises to change things and then sit back and do little to change things?

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 29, 2008 @ 12:57 pm | Reply

  16. CR I want you to know something. I dont look for nor do I want approval from you. I don’t stand and will not take a stand for someone who just complains and cuts down those that come out to serve this community or district. Bill Day might not see things the way you do, but he is out fighting for what he believes in; that is more than I can say for you, although I do have my thoughts on that too. Personaly I didn’t look for nor will I ever look for yours or anyone’s approval for my past and my present. I did this for me and my family ONLY,UNDERSTAND THIS FULLY!
    I had a past I came clean and that is that. I have been a major disappointment to you and maybe a few others but rest assured I have others that ask me to continue my fight and for those I will. So CR don’t flatter yourself thinking you were the vote that put me over the top to get on the school committee and that I need your approval to get re-elected becasue there is nothing further from the truth. I can sleep at night with how I am handling myself on the committee and I don’t lose any sleep because you don’t approve. I don’t know how else to put this but I hope my point to you is loud and clear, I don’t respect you either.

    Comment by Bob Petit — July 29, 2008 @ 1:28 pm | Reply

  17. You asked for our vote promising to change the status quo of overspending and poor academics results at Chariho. You’ve done neither. You’ve shown no real desire to keep your promises. To the contrary, when Mr. Felkner steps up trying to do what you promised to do, you stab him and the families of Hopkinton in the back. You fight tooth and nail for business as usual at Chariho. You can reject our votes now, but don’t pretend you didn’t ask…you did. I value my vote and I voted for you under false pretenses.

    Mr. Day is fighting for his family and you are fighting for yours. Nice to see some honesty. Chariho certainly enriches many families in the community and few suck off the Chariho teat more than the Day family. Doesn’t make them evil, but let’s not play pretend. Sorry, but I can’t admire a man who “fights” for his family’s economic well-being by sacrificing the well-being of other people’s children. Nothing to be proud of there.

    Your fight is to keep the Chariho machine running just as it always has. No doubt that there are hundreds of people in the Chariho community who support your efforts. Most of them don’t reside in Hopkinton, but you don’t let your obligation to your constituency stand in the way of taking care of Chariho employees.

    As always I appreciate your coming here and communicating with the community. It’s unfortunate you don’t offer anything more than the worn out rhetoric that has been coming from Chariho apologists for years, but at least you do participate. I don’t anticipate you’ll change your stripes, but you do allow us a window into the minds and attitudes of those like yourself who stand in the way of improving educational outcomes for the children.

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 29, 2008 @ 3:19 pm | Reply

  18. CR call it what you will. i said I would look into the spending at Chariho and I have. If it is not to your liking or the way you would have done it. Then step up, run for committee and do it yourself. I said I would do something and I am. Plenty of these families you talk about in Hopkinton have expressed their desire for me to continue to do just what I have and how I have done things. Again, when you speak of families do you actually have other families contacting you directly about this or is this just your assumption? I have “families” contacting me, well maybe that is because I don’t hide.

    Again CR how am I fighting for my family? Tell me? The other thing if you go back to another post that somewhere on this blog even Bill Felkenr admittted to one thing; that was that pretty much everyone on the school committee has a connection one way or another to someone in Chariho. Little hard to find people in this district that in one way or another dosen’t have a connection. Watch what you accuse people of without having the information to back it. Yes most of the backing I have is in the town of “Hopkinton” but again you assume you know better then me. But that is ok I know I have the backing I don’t have to worry about what you think you know. But just so you know and understand I will say it again ” I have the backing in HOPKINTON” like it or not CR. I go back what I said earlier I don’t care if you like it or not. You seem to think it really matters to me if you like me or if I have your approval, I find this rather amusing. The assumptions and accusations you make are about the only thing that is more amusing than that.

    Comment by Bob Petit — July 29, 2008 @ 4:01 pm | Reply

  19. I agree that almost everyone on the School Committee has a connection to Chariho that rewards increased spending. I have little doubt that these personal connections to Chariho drive the unreasonable consumption at Chariho. All the excuses in the world won’t change the absurd 11:1 ratio. Can’t run from the facts.

    As the most recent bond vote indicated, there is a substantial minority of Hopkinton families who don’t seem to mind wasting millions more at Chariho. I suspect many of these families are ignorant of the failures of Chariho, and probably unaware how we compare for spending and academics results versus the rest of the country and the rest of the world. If they do know, and still support how Chariho has been run, then they either are personally enriched by Chariho, or they are utter fools.

    The majority in Hopkinton who opposed the bond should try hard to educate the minority. Obviously the majority in Hopkinton are not opposed to education, but we recognize that Chariho has failed both to teach and to teach at a reasonable cost.

    Mr. Petit ran for School Committee claiming he was among those recognizing Chariho’s high cost and dismal performance. He now supports the status quo and excuses the failures while pretending he really is still on the side of reform. But then again, he gets told to keep fighting for the status quo by “families”. He must be schitzophrenic because he tries to play both sides.

    Time has proven Mr. Petit to have lied about his objectives in running for School Committee. Because he hasn’t kept his promises, he now wants to blame “families” who tell him to support business as usual at Chariho. I urge everyone to consider Mr. Petit representative of what we should expect if we approve any one of the bonds. If you want more of the same for the next 20 years, then vote for one or all three. If you want Chariho to get the message the gravy train is coming to the end of the line, then vote NO for each part of the bond.

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 29, 2008 @ 4:30 pm | Reply

  20. CR you have a way with twitisting what people say don’t you. Most people in the district would have some type of connection to Chariho. I didn’t say anything about the ratio and didn’t try to make an excuse for it. I didn’t say a word about it so don’t try to make it sound like I am for a ratio of 11:1 if that truly is thre ratio or is it another twist.

    “As the most recent bond vote indicated, there is a substantial minority of Hopkinton families who don’t seem to mind wasting millions more at Chariho. I suspect many of these families are ignorant of the failures of Chariho, and probably unaware how we compare for spending and academics results versus the rest of the country and the rest of the world. If they do know, and still support how Chariho has been run, then they either are personally enriched by Chariho, or they are utter fools.”

    So all the people that vorted for the bond are now fools. OH yes they must be because they didn’t side with CR. If you don’t then you haven’t a clue.

    “The majority in Hopkinton who opposed the bond should try hard to educate the minority. Obviously the majority in Hopkinton are not opposed to education, but we recognize that Chariho has failed both to teach and to teach at a reasonable cost.”

    All I know is there are a lot more studnets coming out of that school goin to better schools then when I went there. I guess they are not doing to bad. I know there wasn’t even close to the amount that made honor roll or national honors when I went there. Can we do better? Absolutly!

    CR again you claim I try to play both sides, NO. only in your eyes but you are blind to anything good anyway.

    CR you have floundered from one thing to another since we have been carring on this discussion. You love to be all over the board don’t you. How did the bond now get into this? I mean your maturity even at one point brought my past into this. CR it is not even worth carring on with you.

    Anyone that does read this just take a look at all the accusations that have been thrown out about me and even families from Hopkinton. I realize there are some here that may feel the same as CR but he/she thinks they now speak or are the voice of Hopkinton. Wow are you way off. But than again you have been since the beginning.

    CR it has been fun. But you know what I have the students of this districts future to think about so I need to sign off and stop arguing with you. This is your blog, you have fun with it and continue to call us what you will. Maybe someday you will put your ideas where your mouth is (instead of your foot in your mouth) and come out and make the changes it seems no one else has a clue to make. Only you the perfect one, becasue if someone doesn’t agree than they are wrong and called all kinds of names for it.

    Comment by Bob Petit — July 29, 2008 @ 5:01 pm | Reply

  21. Speaking of the failed bond vote, I wonder if you took out the Hopkinton voters who benefit directly from Chariho, if the bond would have failed by a greater margin? Just a thought.

    Bob, you say students are going to better schools now than when you went to Chariho, but are the students going to better schools with higer GPA’s and SAT/ACT scores, or have the standards been adjusted to meet the current needs? I would think most of later generations going to college, etc is a direct result of family involvement. Most children are guided to attain an equivalent of what their parents ahcieved, not less. Giving credit to the educational system for all of this gain is not only speculation, but falls into the realm of Government knows best. You may believe this, but many in our Republic do not. If it was as simple as mandates, teacher ratios, spending, etc, etc, then all students would excel. We know that family values plays a much greater role in providing educational support than any goernment mandates could ever hope to. Politicians would like you to believe otherwise, so they can garner monies for their districts and gain votes from parents who would rather not be burdened with educating their children. One question you should ask yourself, are youths today better educated, behaved, and disciplined than your generation? I would answer that question for myself as no. So is the way business has been conducted better or worse now, I’m afraid my view is not as optimistic as yours.

    Comment by RS — July 29, 2008 @ 7:52 pm | Reply

  22. When attempting to excuse Chariho’s failures, rose-colored glasses are a requirement.

    How can anyone determine if students are going to “better” school? What is a “better” school anyway? We know that around 80% of Chariho 11th graders were not proficient in math, so either “better” schools have lowered their standards, or Mr. Petit is shooting in the dark again.

    Mr. Petit accuses me of calling people who voted for the last bond fools. I actually propose three possibilities…the minority of voters supporting the bond were either unaware of the issues at Chariho; had personal benefit from the status quo at Chariho; or are fools. My assumption is most of the bond supporters fit into one of the first two categories. Mr. Petit chose to put them all into the fool category, not me. Most impressively, the Hopkinton majority voted down the irresponsible bond. I’m hopeful they will do so again in November.

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 29, 2008 @ 8:24 pm | Reply

  23. Bob,
    you made an interesting comment – “All I know is there are a lot more studnets coming out of that school goin to better schools then when I went there. I guess they are not doing to bad. I know there wasn’t even close to the amount that made honor roll or national honors when I went there.”

    We know America has dropped dramatically in world rankings. Is everyone else getting better? I contend that grades and tests are dumbed down. It doesn’t take much to get into most colleges nor get on an honor roll. Is a classic redefinition – redefine what “honors” means and then brag how many honors students there are. Look at the big picture – all but a handful of schools are “proficient” but statewide only 22 percent can pass a math class. SO what does proficient mean?

    Call it the Lake Wobegone effect – all our kids are above average (for those mathematically challenged (or using new math), that’s impossible).

    Comment by Bill Felkner — July 29, 2008 @ 11:09 pm | Reply

  24. Bob, when I hear that colleges and universities are offering more remedial math classes, I wonder the logic in your thinking.

    Bill, I would agree that the tests are not as challenging as they once were, as evidenced by the increased use of remedial classes. Perhaps, the entry in colleges is not based on academic achievement anymore, rather it is more economic.

    Bob, the failure when we went to school was not the quality of the education, but the quality of the educators. We had a few teachers who had some serious mental health issues. I’m guessing that hasn’t changed. The contracts protect them.

    Another failure is in the new curricula that we have embraced. We have college professors who are appalled that children are coming to college not having basic math skills. I’ve read articles about people concerned about returning to school after 20 years, scoring better academically in math than new graduates who have it fresh in their minds.

    Our children are spending more time reading and doing homework now than when we did, and I struggle to see the gains they have made, other than many are likely burned out and hate school at an earlier age.

    Parents are spending more money on educational tools to be used in the home. What did we have?…Flashcards. I’ve spoken to many parents about this. They’ve purchased computer programs, games, flashcards, homeschooling material. They visit computer sites that have free programming to help.

    Something is not right. As a nation, we are falling further behind the rest of the world. When our scores place us behind third world underdeveloped countries, then something is wrong.

    Our children should be much further ahead than they are because of failed theories that are thrust down our throats.

    Chariho needs to get back to the basics on some things. (ie…Math) The touchy feely stuff is not helping our children.

    I would certainly like to see the comparative standardized test scores that show the variations to when we went to school compared to today. Maybe, SAT’s could offer a comparison. I would also like to see how we stood in the world then versus now. It is not only important to compare ourselves within our own demographics, but we should be comparing ourselves on a global scale as well.

    Comment by Lois Buck — July 30, 2008 @ 10:58 am | Reply

  25. wow lois,
    u sure know alot about tests. where did you get your degree in education?

    Comment by wow — July 30, 2008 @ 8:41 pm | Reply

  26. Wow sounds like another union lackey who is afraid of transparency and accountability. Is called research of a topic.

    Dope…

    Comment by RS — July 30, 2008 @ 9:00 pm | Reply

  27. How did you know I majored in Education? Oh, perhaps, you were just being facetious.

    Comment by Lois Buck — July 30, 2008 @ 9:15 pm | Reply

  28. SATs have been modified over the years as well Mrs. Buck. The educational establishment goes out of its way to avoid comparisons. It is up to us, through our School Committees, to demand testing which allows for comparison within the U.S. and globally.

    Mr. Petit silliness aside, the U.S. has fallen behind much of the rest of the world. We won’t turn it around by pretending everything is fine and dandy. Our schools need to refocus on academics and greatly reduce the nonsense. Avoiding a degree in education is a help, not a hinderance…being brainwashed to think children need teachers to instill values is not a good thing.

    Comment by Curious Resident — July 31, 2008 @ 9:39 am | Reply

  29. I agree that they probably have been modified. I would be curious to know how much. It is important to develop a standardized testing system that doesn’t change because of philosophy. Will we ever know how much? Perhaps, this is something we can address to our own D.O.E. It is their responsibility, isn’t it?

    Curious, I think what you describe about degrees is more than just specifically the Education degree. I think Mr. Felkner might attest to this. It is that the universities and colleges don’t offer as much free thinking anymore. It’s their way or no way. Follow the pied piper and you will pass. Fight them and you will pay the price.

    I’ve read about some of the problems Bill faced with obtaining his degree. Yikes!

    To our math dilemma, Bob has admitted in the past that the math we had learned was better than the crap our children are exposed to now. And he didn’t use the word crap. That’s my word.

    So, Bob I ask. If our math was so much better, how come the current generation is smarter than us? I do not see the logic in this thinking. Maybe, it is brainwashing. Sorry, Bob. That’s why some comparison is in order. Otherwise, it is just an opinion.

    To others, you don’t have to have a degree in education, like wow would make you believe, to understand the workings of the standardized testing that we use. Perhaps, there is a little bit of arrogance in wow’s statement, you think? We do need to have access to this information though.

    Last thing, parents are the chief educators of their children. Unfortunately, we’ve turned many of the controls over to our state and our district. This is the cost of big government. I hope we can reverse the trend.

    Comment by Lois Buck — July 31, 2008 @ 1:52 pm | Reply

  30. I have always said that a college degree doesn’t necessarily make you smarter than someone without a degree, but it does open doors when it comes to securing employment. That being said, there are many learning events in our lives involving instruction and education that is performed by people not labeled as “educators” in the academic school setting.

    Comment by RS — July 31, 2008 @ 5:53 pm | Reply

  31. Well said.

    Comment by Lois Buck — August 1, 2008 @ 12:10 am | Reply

  32. SAT’s are still the mean. And in RI we are still in the bottom 10% of the country no matter what changes or adaptations the SAT’s have gone through. They are still the only consistent measure we have through a number of decades. I would assume that students from Asia and from Europe have to take this test as well to enter our colleges and university’s. I would certainly trust this measure before one that RIDE determines is better throughout New England. Students have to compete nationally and internationally not just here.

    Comment by BCapalbo — August 1, 2008 @ 10:49 pm | Reply

  33. RS is correct that a college degree certainly doesn’t make one smarter than the next but it does matter when looking for employment. It doesn’t even matter what your degree is in – just that you have one. It’s like one more box checked off in the pursuit of life.

    Comment by BCapalbo — August 1, 2008 @ 11:27 pm | Reply

  34. There is a documentary out there called “Two Million Minutes: A Global Examination”. The documentarian looks into the educational standards of China, India, and the U.S. The U.S. comes up woefully inadequate. This does not bode well for our future. Here’s an article:

    http://trak.in/tags/business/2008/02/28/indian-school-education-standards-better-usa-china/

    “Two Million Minutes casts a bright spotlight on a crisis in this country.” – Bill Gates

    To view a riveting movie trailer go to YouTube here – notice the vast difference in thinking between our children and the children from China and India:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/2MillionMinutes

    Here’s more: http://www.2MMinutes.com

    So CharihoParent and other apologists can keep telling us how deserving Chariho is of more of our money. They can pretend it is okay to impoverish families in exchange for pumping more money into Chariho. They are wrong.

    This is not about building and amentities, it is about will. The will to teach and the will to learn. We are in short supply in both areas. The Chariho apologists rhetoric is not only harmful to our children, but it is dangerous to the future of our country. Our children will not be competing with children in Warwick, they will be competing with children in Bejing. Chariho is doing a lousy job in preparing them for the challenges that lie ahead.

    Hopkinton needs to reject the bond. Reject the failure. I know vouchers will work, but I’m open to anything other than the status quo. The first step is Hopkinton sending the message to Chariho that we are done with the status quo. We all need to talk to our neighbors and friends to make sure Hopkinton makes the right decision once again.

    Comment by Curious Resident — August 2, 2008 @ 11:20 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

